Please take a moment to familiarise yourself with the forum guidelines: http://forum.wordtravels.com/discussion/17906/word-travels-guidelines-for-forum-posts/
Check out our country and city guides at www.wordtravels.com

Netherlands Tourist Visa Refusal - Minor case

Dear all,

My brother has received a refusal letter from Netherlands Embassy for a Short Stay Schengen Visa. He is of Vietnamese nationality, 17 years old and is currently a high school student. I am a Resident in France (for 3 years now) and we planned to travel together during his summer holiday. We wanted to stay the longest in Netherlands, therefore, we chose to apply with a 15-day itinerary to the Netherlands embassy in Kuala Lumpur (through Hanoi VFS)

Besides the standard documents, we also submitted:
- Travel planning + hotel and flights (reserved but not paid)
- My mother's letter of financial sponsorship for him (with all related financial proof under her name - savings account, land registration, car registration, etc. Please note that my mom has received a 90-day visa to France previously with these documents)
- Letter from his school detailing that he's currently a student in summer holiday and will come back to study in August 2016 (from the school's headmaster with official stamp)
- Letter stamped by authorities that my parents allow him to travel alone to Europe, and that he will be under my responsibility for his whole stay in Europe
- Letter from me supporting his visa application

He got refused on two grounds, detailed in the letter: number 3 and 9.

The explanation is, of course, very vague as usual. However, according to my understanding, the Dutch said that 1) they don't believe that he process the sufficient financial means FREELY AND INDEPENDENTLY to travel and 2) he does not show sufficient SOCIAL AND/OR ECONOMIC TIES to his home country and also does not show a regular income