Please take a moment to familiarise yourself with the forum guidelines: http://forum.wordtravels.com/discussion/17906/word-travels-guidelines-for-forum-posts/
Check out our country and city guides at www.wordtravels.com

Spouse visa for South African moving to Tunisia

edited August 14 in - Tunisia
This discussion was created from comments split from: Living in Tunisia permanently.

Comments

• @Lesley I trust that you are well :) I am a South African male, Muslim, and will be marrying a Tunisian woman.We have decided to settle in Tunis.What is the procedure to obtaining a spouse visa for myself in Tunis?

Would it be easy to find work in Tunis as I am a native English speaker, I do not hold a degree, I have a National Diploma as well as certificates related to teaching, TEFL & SETA Assessor/Trainer...with 5 years teaching experience.

Also I would assume that the marriage procedure for us would be a bit different as we should marry at the South African embassy in Tunis,as per what I was told.

You reply is much appreciated.
  • edited August 13
    @Nabzoo
    You DO NOT marry at the South Africam embassy in Tunis
    Tunisian wedding are conducted at the beledyia marriage office in the town where your fiance lives
    The wedding is a civil ceremony which is legally recognised in all countries.UK USA Europe Australia etc
    You will need your birth certificate issiued 21 days before your wedding
    Your documents must be translated into French or Arabic
    If your divorced or a widower you will need the divorce or death certificate
    You will require a certificate from the Imam in South Africa confirming you are a muslim.
    You will need blood tests for you and your fiancee in Tunisia before you marry.

South Africans do not need a visa to enter Tunisia. One your married you apply for a resi dence permit a Carte de Sejour.

There is high unemployment in Tunisia but @ Lesley can advise you on this