Passport Question - do I have to leave after 90 days in Schengen countries

Comments

• edited 10:44PM
    Hi There,
    I am an American Citizen and Until Recently I was a student (on a legitimate student visa) studying in the UK. I graduated my masters programme in November, so ceased my Student Visa then. I went back home to the States in November and came back to the UK just before December and stayed with my boyfriend (who is still at the University). I entered the UK on a 6 month tourist visa which expires in April. I travelled to Israel for a week long vacation to visit friends a short time ago, but on entering back into the UK I was questioned about why I was coming back; saying that I had been in Europe to try and extend my 6-month visa. I told immigration in the UK that I was simply in the UK until April but the Immigration Officer told me I was only allowed to stay til March. I'm really confused - am I now 'bound' to the UK on my tourist Visa? My partner and I had wanted to inter-rail in Europe in March, but I'm afraid I won't be allowed back into the UK for the last few weeks of my visa; or worse that if I try to leave the country after March I'll get deported back to the states.

Last I heard England wasn't a Schengen country, so why are there problems with me being here for more than 90 days? Any advice? Should I go to an Imigration Adviser? Was my Immigration Officer being a jobsworth, or have I misunderstood the terms of my visa?
    i am a canadian citizen and dont require a visa to stay for up to 90 days however i have a flight to sweden on the 14th which would be 90 days to the date since my arrival on nov 15th - if i leave for 2 weeks can i come back in without a visa or will i have to apply for one?
    I will really appreciate an answer for the following concern: