Travelling Alone - Singapore & Malaysia

2»

Comments

• edited 6:43AM
    Hello, I'll be visiting Singapore for 6 days on my own on April. Should be exciting but its my first time to travel on my own.
    I do have friends in SG but most of them are working during weekdays, and that leaves me to go on my own itinerary.
    I plan to stay in a hostel near Clark Quay-but still undecided. Somewhere vibrant, not stiff and a lot of people.
    I want to join 'walking group tours' or dinner group--for a chance of interaction, but I don't know which tour groups are usually packed and has a good number of mixed people.

So for a solo-traveller-where are the good stops? Anything and everything under the sun is cool for me?
    Also, is it possible to visit KL? Whats the easiest way and will save me time (except flying)..
    Katrina, you can take a bus from Singapore to KL...its cheap, comfortable and takes 4 hours.
    To plan your trip, you can use this very useful website/app www.tripflick.com
    Hello,
    I was planning to go to Malaysia alone this summer, but the thing is I am 17 at present, and my folks were telling me that there are traps for young travellers and so on and so forth, I would very much appreciate if an expert would guide me through to the best alternative ??
    Hi Hussey,

malaysia is generally quite a safe country to travel in. That being said, I am guessing that you are a girl and therefore your parents are worried during your solo travel, plus you are quite young in my opinion. I travelled in a small group when I was 19..
    That being said, it is always more important to be careful and alert because you never know when you will fall prey to.
    Hence, I think the best alternative if you would like to go to malaysia is to check into a backpacking hostel and get to know a bunch of friends who share similar itinerary as you. And ask if you could tag along or something. This will get you more people and a bunch of possibly lifetime friends.